Forsaken Mud

Rise of the Old Gods

Elisus was forged in the void. Though some would say it was created, the reality would be more like leaves clinging together on the surface of a pond were put there with a purpose—an endless array of fragmented realms colliding in the void. Drawn together by chance or by some mysterious force, some would say the universe itself. As their combined power began to grow, what was once dim embers became flames once more. From this growing source of energy, Nigmuth emerged. Unlike other beings that feed upon existence, drawing sustenance from the very realms they occupy. Nigmuth simply was, beginning to exist as Elisus came to exist. Thus, it came to be that Nigmuth is Elisus, and Elisus is Nigmuth.

Clinging to the ashen remains of their forgotten realms like parasites came the old gods. We do not know how many there were in the beginning. As power welled, and life grew, so did they begin to stir. Their presence emerging as the different seeds of mortality that came with each broken piece began to flourish. Old things that had grown dormant as their worlds were torn asunder. The struggle started almost immediately, and the weaker ones were consumed. Some never to rise before they were destroyed. And it is thought that others may still lay dormant, buried in what was once their own planes of existence.

From this immortal melee, there emerged eventually, four dominant forces. A broken pantheon arose, incomplete and born in strife. These became what we know now as the Old Gods. Halla, the Goddess of death, sustaining herself on the souls of mortality. Navith, the Goddess of life, nurturing the mortals that exist only to feed her growing power. Azzaron, the god of knowledge sustained by the very flow of time itself, a being of enlightenment and order. And Wendr the god of chance, a harbinger of chaos thriving on disorder and conflict.

For an age these four forces vied for control. Their individual domains dividing the mortals of Elisus. Life, death, order, and chaos. A constant, never-ending struggle that stretched to the far reaches of Elisus. Eventually forming into the city-states, we know today. Atheln and Caelwyn developed along these divided lines. The cavernous city of Caelwyn ruled by the Goddess of death, her vampiric minions preying upon mortality. And Atheln, a shining beacon of light and life, guarded by the Crusaders of Navith and their enigmatic White King. Order and chaos pushed and pulled, light and dark began their eternal cycle, and Elisus grew into something more than its parts. A well of power held together by Nigmuth a beacon in the void.

Parent: History

Discussion (0)

There are no comments for this doc yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

A password will be emailed to you.